I have received an email today purporting to be from Apple offering me a 1 year extension to my iphone warranty. this is the link URL REMOVED - PHISHING/SCAM SITE
can anyone confirm that this is genuine as I have gone onto the website and it all looks cosher but you never can be too careful and seeing how it asks for all my phone details I don't want to enter all the requested info only to find that it's a phishing site.
Location: The land of pulped frozen monkeys and deaf leopards
Current Phone: iPhone 3G s 32gb (sim free)
Posts: 8,946
Apple do offer applecare for iphones if taken before the 1st anniversary. If you're unsure, then buy direct from the apple website. As a side note, there's someone on ebay selling the codes for £29. I've no link to them!
__________________
Why is there only one Monopolies Commission?
thanks for the replies. The email says it's a free warranty extension, doesn't mention Applecare. Opened the link in both IE8 and Opera no mention of anything bad so it looks as though the site is the genuine Apple site, if you follow some of the links on the page they take you to other pages on the Apple site: have got until 20th Feb to take up the offer so will consider it over the next few days.
thanks for the replies. The email says it's a free warranty extension, doesn't mention Applecare. Opened the link in both IE8 and Opera no mention of anything bad so it looks as though the site is the genuine Apple site, if you follow some of the links on the page they take you to other pages on the Apple site: have got until 20th Feb to take up the offer so will consider it over the next few days.
Dave has already posted a link to the report Firefox produces, yet you still want to believe it to be genuine?
Sorry, but you deserve all that you get if you go ahead with it!
__________________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I have received an email today purporting to be from Apple offering me a 1 year extension to my iphone warranty. this is the link http://www.apple.com.cxxxxxxxxxxxxxm...e/warranty.htm
can anyone confirm that this is genuine as I have gone onto the website and it all looks cosher but you never can be too careful and seeing how it asks for all my phone details I don't want to enter all the requested info only to find that it's a phishing site.
Whois lookup:
Quote:
Domain Name : cmd9qyom2v.com
PunnyCode : cmd9qyom2v.com
Creation Date : 2010-02-06 02:14:23
Updated Date : 2010-02-06 02:14:29
Expiration Date : 2011-02-06 02:14:20
Registrant:
Organization : Pan Wei wei
Name : Pan Wei wei
Address : BaoChun Rd. 27, No. 3, 1F, Apt. 1903
City : Bejing
Province/State : Beijing
Country : CN
Postal Code : 100176
Administrative Contact:
Name : Pan Wei wei
Organization : Pan Wei wei
Address : BaoChun Rd. 27, No. 3, 1F, Apt. 1903
City : Bejing
Province/State : Beijing
Country : CN
Postal Code : 100176
Phone Number : 010-010-58022118-58022118
Fax : 86-010-58022118-58022118
Email :
Technical Contact:
Name : Pan Wei wei
Organization : Pan Wei wei
Address : BaoChun Rd. 27, No. 3, 1F, Apt. 1903
City : Bejing
Province/State : Beijing
Country : CN
Postal Code : 100176
Phone Number : 010-010-58022118-58022118
Fax : 86-010-58022118-58022118
Email :
Billing Contact:
Name : Pan Wei wei
Organization : Pan Wei wei
Address : BaoChun Rd. 27, No. 3, 1F, Apt. 1903
City : Bejing
Province/State : Beijing
Country : CN
Postal Code : 100176
Phone Number : 010-010-58022118-58022118
Fax : 86-010-58022118-58022118
Compared to Apple.com
Quote:
Registrant:
Apple Inc.
Apple Inc.
1 Infinite Loop
Cupertino CA 95014
US
+1.4089744286 Fax: +1.4089741560
Administrative Contact:
Apple Inc.
Apple Inc.
1 Infinite Loop
Cupertino CA 95014
US
+1.4089744286 Fax: +1.4089741560
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
NOC Apple (NA4189-ORG)
Apple Inc.
1 Infinite Loop M/S 60-DR
Cupertino CA 95014
US
+1.4089961010 Fax: +1.4089741560
Created on..............: 1987-02-19.
Expires on..............: 2011-02-19.
Record last updated on..: 2009-12-30.
You can tell it's a scam by the domain, which pretends to be www.apple.com, but has more after it before the / ... Mind you, I guess a lot of people do fall for this sort of thing.
As it tries to pass itself off as Apple, it's a clear scam and someting Apple should deal with ASAP.
I suspect the OP knew this all along and is simply finding a way to avoid being detected for spamming (scamming) from the outset, by posting the URL with a question rather than a recommendation.
__________________
Jonathan Morris Editor What Mobile
Follow my commenting/in-depth knowledge/ranting on Twitter: To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I suspect the OP knew this all along and is simply finding a way to avoid being detected for spamming (scamming) from the outset, by posting the URL with a question rather than a recommendation.
I did wonder, but it's a odd sort of advert that mentions that it might be a phishing scam?
Saying 'I found this great site' is pretty obvious.
Far better to get people to discuss something, but then come back and say that upon further investigation it seems fine. I guess it relies on such things being posted on forums where people might not do the same level of checking or investigating. It's pretty well known from the way people comment on threads that a lot of people don't start from the top, so how many people would see the original 'is this dodgy?' posts over the 'It's okay, they're fine - I recommend them highly' ones later on.
I am sure that with a bit of Googling and other checking, we'll find the same thing happening on forums worldwide, most of which won't be technology based.
Fortunately, most members here are a very clever, somewhat cynical, bunch of people that can see through these posts. They just provide amusement instead!
__________________
Jonathan Morris Editor What Mobile
Follow my commenting/in-depth knowledge/ranting on Twitter: To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.