Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 8320 - No service problems

hey guys,

a BB newbie here, hope someone here can help. Finally made the jump onto the BB wagon but since my upgrade was not due till xmas I decided to pick up a used BB off ebay. A cheap way for me to find out if i was suited to the BB OS and features. So I managed to get a mint 8320 off ebay, arrived a couple of days ago and I've been playing with it since.

Thought i would get it unlocked as it was originally on the BT Mobile network but having stumbled upon this page I found that the phone was unlocked (network shows as disabled):

http://blackberryfaq.com/index.php/H...unlocked%22%3F

However, I have tried both Vodafone contract and T-mobile pay-as-you-go SIM cards but keep getting 'Searching for Network' message initially and then 'No Network' message. The Voda SIM does sometimes show a GSM signal but won't allow calls (maybe this is due to BT Mobile piggy-backing on the Voda network?).

Anyone help? I've tried removing the battery and replacing it after 5 minutes or so and still not working. Do I need to have BIS added to my account for the SIM card to work in the BB 8320? Or has the unlock process not worked?

Also, there desn't seem to be anyway of getting a BT SIM card to try in the phone as they don't do pre-paid and i don't know anyone with a BT mobile phone.

Thanks for reading, hope someone can help

There seem to be two separate issues here, i think.

The first and most important is that if the phone is showing that its unlocked, then either the sim card or the handset has been blocked. for my money, i reckon its the phone. You're going to need to ask the person you bought it from to call CS and make sure its unblocked.